Virginia reckless driving charge is a crime. Reckless driving is usually charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor in Fairfax county. This is the highest level of misdemeanor in Virginia. It can also be charged as a felony. A conviction for a Virginia reckless driving charge will remainon your criminal record.
Convictions for traffic infractions drop off a Virginia driving record eventually. A criminal conviction, however, will never go away. In Virginia, criminal convictions cannot be expunged. It is important to contact an experienced Virginia reckless driving lawyer to avoid a conviction for a Virginia reckless driving charge. If a conviction cannot be avoided, a Virginia reckless driving lawyer can help to obtain the best possible outcome.
Unlike speeding tickets, you cannot pre-pay a fine for a Virginia reckless driving charge. You must show up to court.
Penalties for a Virginia reckless driving charge include jail time up to one year, and a fine up to $2500. The court may also order that the driver’s license be suspended for up to six months.
After talking to an experienced criminal and traffic defense lawyer, your Reckless Driving attorney may recommend that you take some of the following actions:
Get a copy of your Virginia driving record prior to court date
First, you may be requested to obtain a copy of your current driving record from the state where you are licensed. After reviewing your record, your attorney can provide you with an assessment of what risks you may face in court and what potential difficulties may prevent a successful resolution of your case. For instance, if you have a prior DUI, Reckless Driving charge, or multiple speeding tickets, resolving you case in Fairfax may be more difficult than if you had a perfect record.
If recommended by your lawyer, have your vehicle’s speedometer calibrated before your Reckless Driving trial.
You should not necessarily do this without talking to an attorney beforehand. If you choose The Gordon Law Firm to be your Virginia reckless driving lawyers, we will direct you to automobile mechanics that have “dynamometers”. A dynamometer is like a treadmill. A trained mechanic runs the speed of the treadmill from 10 to 65 mph or more and compares the dynamometer reading to what your vehicle’s speedometer is telling the car’s owner.